You Say You Want Freedom?

Here’s what you really want.

Maya Sayvanova
4 min readJan 16, 2020
Photo by Thomas Ashlock on Unsplash

I’m stretching out my legs, lying on a sunbed on our new terrace, in our new home, in this big city full of things to do and people to meet and I feel… empty.

It’s weird.

I was sure that I wanted freedom. The freedom to do whatever the hell I want, to call the shots, to work on things that matter to me.

That’s why I quit my job, that’s why I built a freelancing practice that allows me to earn good money with 2 hours of work per day.

Here I am, free as a bird, and what am I doing? Nothing. Nothing I enjoy.

It dawns on me that freedom is overrated. It’s cool and all, but there’s a level of freedom that people put on a pedestal, and it’s not a big deal.

In fact, you can only handle so much of it.

You can only handle so much lying around on sunbeds.

That was back in 2015.

It’s 2020 now and I’m not going for freedom anymore. I’m going for something so much better.

The problem with freedom.

When most of us say we want freedom, we’re mostly speaking about economic freedom. We want the money to be able to do whatever we want, to be authentic and to express ourselves…

--

--

Maya Sayvanova

6-Figure Writer | Featured in Business Insider | Helping solopreneurs succeed | Sign up here: https://rb.gy/jbwa8b